Research

The mission of the ZBSA is to carry out archaeological research spanning many periods and regions in Scandinavia, the North Atlantic and Baltic Sea regions, and the former East Prussia (now part of Poland, Russia and Lithuania). Our aim is a multi-facetted reconstruction of the past in interdisciplinary cooperation with scientists in other fields.

Archaeology within the widespread research area of the ZBSA is characterised by scientifically relevant particularities that are reflected in its various fields of research (Research Priorities) These include:

the late settlement of the area after the end of the last Ice Age; its peripheral location with regard to the cultures of Central and south-eastern Europe and their influence; the strong maritime aspect with the resulting economic and social models, as well as – after the Stone Age – limited access to raw materials, which led to the creation of vital communication routes and networks. As a result, the cultures in the Scandinavian and Baltic regions developed individual, but not isolated, solutions and innovations. Typical, also, are the historically relatively long cultural and settlement continuities, which give rise to their own particular scientific challenges.

The academic content of ZBSA’s activity consists of three Strategic Research Areas: Man and Artefact, Man and Society and Man and Environment The next level, as far as content and methods are concerned, is divided into different Research Priorities, in which research issues common to several projects are discussed. Priorities are assigned to the individual Research Areas, although the contents can overlap. Individual projects are always assigned to a specific Research Area even if they are not part of an official Research Priority, although this is an exception.

The ZBSA is thus committed to a holistic research programme, in which archaeology is considered a methodological bridge linking it to other disciplines in the humanities, cultural, social and natural sciences.

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Personal tools

Forschung

Aufgabe des ZBSA ist die regionen- und epochenübergreifende archäologische Forschung in Skandinavien, dem nordatlantischen Raum, dem Baltikum und dem ehemaligen Ostpreußen (Teile Polens und Russlands). Unser Ziel ist die breit gefächerte Rekonstruktion der Vergangenheit im interdisziplinären Verbund mit anderen Wissenschaften.

Die Archäologie des weitgespannten Arbeitsgebietes des ZBSA zeichnet sich durch wissenschaftlich relevante Besonderheiten aus, die sich in seinen Forschungsfeldern (► Forschungsschwerpunkte) widerspiegeln:

die spät einsetzende nach­eiszeitliche Besiedlungsgeschichte, die periphere Lage zu Kulturen Mittel- und Südosteuropas und deren kulturelle Reflektion, starke maritime Prägung mit den daraus resultierenden wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Modellen sowie – nach der Steinzeit – begrenzte Zugangsmöglichkeit zu Rohstoffen mit der notwendig werdenden Schaffung weiter Kommunikationswege und -netze. Die Kulturen im skandinavischen und baltischen Raum entwickelten individuelle, aber nicht isolierte Lösungen und Innovationen. Kennzeichnend sind zudem vergleichsweise lange kulturelle und besiedlungsgeschichtliche Kontinuitäten, die besondere wissenschaftliche Herausforderungen darstellen.

Die Arbeit des ZBSA ist inhaltlich in die drei wissenschaftlichen Themenbereiche ► Mensch & Artefakt, ► Mensch & Gesellschaft und ► Mensch & Umwelt sowie auf der nächsten Ebene in inhaltliche und methodische Forschungsschwerpunkte gegliedert, in denen gemeinsame Forschungsfragen unterschiedlicher Projekte diskutiert werden. Die Schwerpunkte sind den einzelnen Themenbereichen zugeordnet, können deren Grenzen jedoch auch inhaltlich überschreiten. Einzelprojekte sind immer einem Themenbereich zugeordnet, auch wenn sie keinem Forschungsschwerpunkt angehören, was allerdings zu einem Ausnahmefall gehört.

Damit bekennt sich das ZBSA zu einem ganzheitlichen Forschungspro­gramm, das Archäologie als methodisches Brückenfach zu anderen Disziplinen der Geistes-, Kultur-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften begreift.

 

Document Actions